FSA-II logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is FSA-II?

TL;DR
  • FSA-II means Level II of the IFRS Foundation's Fundamentals of Sustainability Accounting (FSA) Credential, taken after passing Level I.
  • The exam is 120 minutes of case-based multiple-choice questions delivered through Pearson VUE, at a test centre or online via OnVUE.
  • Level II fees are US$650 standard and US$500 for qualifying IFRS Sustainability Alliance members, before taxes.
  • Content covers company-specific materiality, data comparability and linking sustainability performance to financial valuation.

What FSA-II Actually Is

FSA-II is the shorthand this site uses for the Fundamentals of Sustainability Accounting (FSA) Credential, Level II. The IFRS Foundation, which governs the programme, refers to it as the FSA Credential Level II exam. "FSA-II" is a convenient level label rather than a verified official exam code, so you will not see it printed on an IFRS score report or booking screen.

The FSA Credential is a two-level programme. Level I builds foundational knowledge of sustainability accounting concepts. Level II moves from knowing the vocabulary to applying it: deciding which sustainability issues matter for a specific company, judging whether performance data can be fairly compared, and translating sustainability performance into financial-valuation adjustments. Passing Level II after Level I earns the FSA Credential.

This site covers Level II only. If you are still sorting out terminology, our explainers on what FSA-II stands for and the meaning of FSA-II cover the naming in more detail, and the FSA-II certification overview gives the broader picture.

Why the label matters: Several unrelated credentials use the same "FSA-II" acronym. Everything in this article refers exclusively to the IFRS Foundation's sustainability accounting Level II exam. Fees, dates and formats from any other FSA credential do not apply here.

Who Governs and Delivers the Exam

Three organizations touch the Level II experience, and it helps to know which does what:

  • IFRS Foundation: the governing body that owns the credential, curriculum and exam content.
  • Pearson VUE: the testing provider. You schedule and sit the exam through Pearson VUE, either at a test centre or through OnVUE online proctoring.
  • AICPA & CIMA: a programme partner that publishes guidance on the credential, including its recommendation of 30-50 study hours and a two-year completion window after Level I.

The distinction matters for practical questions. Fee and scheduling terms come from Pearson VUE's booking flow. Curriculum scope comes from the IFRS Foundation. Some timing guidance comes from the partner and should be treated as partner-published rather than a rule written into the exam itself.

Exam Format: Cases, Question Types and Timing

FSA-II is a case-based multiple-choice exam. The current IFRS page describes 55 multiple-choice questions associated with 13 cases. An older candidate handbook that was previously reviewed gives a figure of 53 questions; the current handbook sits behind a form, so we could not confirm which number applies to your sitting. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed in the sources we could retrieve, so do not assume any particular breakdown.

FeatureFSA-II Detail
Question formatCase-based multiple choice
Question count55 on the current IFRS page (older handbook: 53)
Cases13 associated cases
Time allowed2 hours (120 minutes)
Answer typesSingle-answer and multiple-answer, including choose-two items
DeliveryPearson VUE test centre or OnVUE online proctoring
InterfaceSplit-screen case and question layout with computer tools

The official public sample questions show how this plays out. Several questions can share a single case, so you read a company scenario once and answer multiple items against it. Some items ask for one answer; others ask you to select two. That mix rewards careful reading, because a multiple-answer item cannot be solved by recognizing a single familiar term.

Two hours across the full exam leaves a limited time budget per question once you account for reading the cases. For a candid look at how that feels in practice, see how hard the FSA-II exam is.

Not a recall exam: Level II questions are built around application. Knowing what a metric is will not be enough if you cannot decide whether it is material for a particular company, comparable across peers, or relevant to a valuation input.

The Three Domains Explained

This site organizes Level II preparation into three domains. These mirror the three part headings of the IFRS Foundation's public Level II curriculum outline. They are not a published, weighted exam blueprint; the IFRS Foundation has not publicly assigned percentage weights to them, so no domain can be declared the "highest weighted." Our complete guide to the three FSA-II content areas goes deeper on each.

Domain 1: Identifying the Sustainability Issues Relevant to Financial Performance

The starting question is which sustainability issues actually matter for this company, in this industry, in this operating environment.

  • How industry characteristics shape a sustainability profile
  • How a company's own circumstances, governance and management practices change which topics are relevant
  • How to distinguish a sustainability issue from its enterprise-value effect, and how issues interact
  • Applying the five-factor evaluation to assess exposure to an issue

Domain 2: Evaluating the Comparability of Sustainability Information

Once you know what matters, you need data that supports a fair comparison between companies.

  • When and how to normalize ESG data, and which denominators suit which metrics
  • Reading the spread and distribution of industry performance
  • Handling outliers and non-normal distributions
  • Judging data quality and accounting for operating conditions, management and governance when comparing peers

Domain 3: The Connection Between Sustainability Performance and Valuation

The final step is turning analysis into financial meaning.

  • Characterizing risks and opportunities by likelihood, timing and magnitude
  • Linking SASB metrics to revenue, expenses, assets, liabilities and the cost of capital
  • Using discounted cash flow and identifying channels of financial impact
  • Going beyond DCF with returns and profitability evaluation and scenario analysis

Curriculum Map: 9 Chapters, 24 Subheadings

The public Level II outline, marked "Last Updated: 11/22," organizes content into 3 parts, 9 chapters, 24 numbered subheadings and 10 learning objectives. Here is the full chapter scope, grouped under the three domains. Note that this is an unweighted preparation map, and curriculum headings alone do not prove exhaustive exam coverage.

Domain 1 chapters

  • Chapter 1, How a Company's Circumstances Influence Material Sustainability Issues: considerations that shape each industry's sustainability profile; evaluating how a company's circumstances influence material sustainability factors; the influence of governance and management practices.
  • Chapter 2, Understanding Sustainability Issues: the universe of sustainability issues; identifying interrelated impacts.
  • Chapter 3, Evaluating Sustainability Issues: applying the five factors; contextualizing sustainability topics; making use of the findings.

Domain 2 chapters

  • Chapter 4, Normalizing Data for More Effective Comparisons: when to normalize ESG data; selecting appropriate measures for normalization; normalizing for comparative analysis.
  • Chapter 5, Analyzing the Spread of Industry Performance: getting to know your ESG data; analyzing data distribution; outliers and non-normal distributions; considering data quality.
  • Chapter 6, Considering Company-Specific Context: a company's operating environment; management and governance decisions.

Domain 3 chapters

  • Chapter 7, Characterizing Financial Impact: identifying risks and opportunities; assessing likelihood, timing and magnitude of impacts; the process for identifying metric types and categories.
  • Chapter 8, Using Sustainability Data in Financial Valuation: overview of discounted cash flow; identifying channels of financial impact.
  • Chapter 9, Integrating ESG Beyond DCF: evaluating returns and profitability; scenario analysis.
Check the version: The curriculum link still points to the document marked 11/22, and the public sample questions carry a 2022 copyright. We did not verify a separate 2026 exam form or any updated weighted blueprint. A current link to an older document is not evidence of a syllabus revision, so confirm the latest materials when you schedule.

Registration, Fees and Testing Windows

You book Level II through Pearson VUE. A few mechanics are worth understanding before you click "schedule."

Fees

The Level II examination fee is US$650 for standard or non-member candidates and US$500 for qualifying IFRS Sustainability Alliance members, before applicable taxes. These figures cover the Level II exam only. They are not the combined cost of both levels, and they exclude any optional prep course. Pearson VUE also describes location-based reduced pricing for eligible low- and middle-income economies, but we have not assumed a specific discounted amount for any country. Our FSA-II certification cost breakdown walks through the full budget.

Testing windows

Exams are offered in three windows each year: January to February, May to June, and September to October. Pearson VUE allows a maximum of three sittings per level. See the FSA-II exam dates and scheduling guide for planning around these windows.

Rescheduling and cancellation

Current scheduling guidance allows rescheduling or cancellation up to 48 hours beforehand. Inside that period, the provider describes a $60 late reseating route, and a 14-day payment refund period exists. Cancelling is not automatically the same as getting your money back, so read the booking terms before you rely on a refund.

Online proctoring with OnVUE

If you test from home or the office, OnVUE requires compliant equipment, identity checks and a private, cleared workspace. Personal notes, books and physical scratch paper are not permitted. Use the permitted on-screen calculator and whiteboard tools instead, and practice with computer-based tools beforehand rather than leaning on paper habits.

Accommodations

Pearson VUE asks candidates who need accommodations to submit the request at least 30 days in advance. Do this before choosing your final date. No adaptive-testing claim was verified for this exam.

Key Takeaway

Request any accommodation at least 30 days out, confirm whether you want a test centre or OnVUE, and read the cancellation terms before paying. Those three decisions shape your date more than any study plan does.

Prerequisites and Timing Rules

The official prerequisite for Level II is passing Level I. No mandatory degree, professional designation, industry-experience hours or references were verified for Level II. That makes the credential accessible to analysts, accountants, consultants and sustainability specialists from varied backgrounds, though it also means the exam, not a résumé filter, is the gatekeeper. The FSA-II requirements guide covers eligibility in more detail.

AICPA & CIMA publishes guidance that candidates have two years to complete Level II after Level I; otherwise Level I must be retaken. We retain this as partner-published guidance because the current handbook was not retrievable. The same partner recommends 30-50 study hours, which is a suggestion, not an eligibility requirement.

What Is Not Publicly Confirmed

Honest exam preparation means knowing where the public information stops. As of our review, the following were not verified from accessible issuer sources:

  • The pass mark. A 70% figure appears in partner CPE guidance, but it concerns eligibility for CPE credit, not the passing standard. Do not treat it as "70% to pass." See the FSA-II passing score page for how we handle this.
  • A pass rate. Provider success claims are not an overall or first-attempt IFRS Level II pass rate. Our pass rate analysis explains what the data can and cannot show.
  • Domain weights. No official weighted blueprint was found.
  • Credential validity and renewal. A fixed expiry period, mandatory renewal fee and recurring CPE or CPD total were not verified. Do not read this gap as "lifetime" or "no renewal required." CPE awarded for taking an exam is also different from ongoing credential maintenance.
Study materials timing: The current official study materials are supplied after exam scheduling. That means you commit to a date before you see the full paid study guide, which is a reason to use the free public outline and sample questions to gauge readiness first.

Who Benefits From the Credential

Level II is built around the analytical work done where sustainability information meets financial decision-making. The roles that tend to engage with this material include:

  • Investment analysts and portfolio managers who need to integrate ESG factors into valuation and security selection.
  • Equity and credit researchers comparing companies within an industry on sustainability performance.
  • Corporate finance and investor relations professionals explaining how sustainability performance connects to financial outcomes.
  • Accountants, auditors and assurance practitioners moving into sustainability reporting and disclosure.
  • Sustainability and ESG consultants advising on materiality and data comparability.

We deliberately do not quote salary figures here, because none were verified for this credential. For a qualitative treatment of earning potential and value, read the FSA-II salary guide, the ROI analysis of whether FSA-II is worth it, and the overview of FSA-II jobs.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

The three domains build on each other, so the order of study is itself an FSA-II-specific decision. Materiality (Domain 1) determines which metrics you analyze; comparability (Domain 2) determines whether you can trust the analysis; valuation (Domain 3) is where both feed into numbers. Studying out of order leaves you memorizing formulas without knowing when they apply.

Weeks 1-2

Domain 1: relevance and materiality

  • Work Chapters 1-3, focusing on the five-factor evaluation
  • Practice distinguishing an issue from its enterprise-value effect
Weeks 3-4

Domain 2: comparability

  • Work Chapters 4-6, especially normalization choices and outliers
  • Review how operating environment and governance alter peer comparisons
Weeks 5-6

Domain 3: valuation

  • Work Chapters 7-9, tracing metrics to revenue, expenses, assets, liabilities and cost of capital
  • Practice DCF channels and scenario analysis
Week 7

Integration

  • Work multi-question cases that cross all three domains
  • Practice multiple-answer items under the 120-minute clock

This six-to-seven-week shape is a planning suggestion, not an official requirement; adjust it to your background. Candidates with strong finance experience may compress Domain 3, while those from a sustainability background often need extra time on discounted cash flow and normalization. Our FSA-II study guide expands on this approach, and the FSA-II cheat sheet is useful for a final review of must-know facts.

When you are ready to test your application skills, our FSA-II practice tests use application-style items covering company-specific relevance, data comparability and valuation, so you can check yourself against the style the exam rewards.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does FSA-II stand for?

On this site, FSA-II refers to the Fundamentals of Sustainability Accounting (FSA) Credential, Level II, governed by the IFRS Foundation. The issuer calls it the FSA Credential Level II exam; "FSA-II" is a local level label rather than an official exam code. See what FSA-II stands for for more.

How long is the FSA-II exam and how many questions does it have?

The exam lasts 2 hours (120 minutes). The current IFRS page describes 55 multiple-choice questions associated with 13 cases, though an older handbook gave 53 questions. The scored versus unscored split is not disclosed in the sources we retrieved.

How much does the FSA-II exam cost?

The Level II fee is US$650 for standard or non-member candidates and US$500 for qualifying IFRS Sustainability Alliance members, before applicable taxes. Reduced pricing exists for eligible low- and middle-income economies, but no country-specific amount is assumed. Optional prep courses cost extra.

Do I have to pass Level I first?

Yes. Passing Level I is the official prerequisite for Level II. AICPA & CIMA also states a two-year window to complete Level II after Level I, otherwise Level I must be retaken. Treat that window as partner-published guidance and confirm it when you register. Details are in the overview of the certification.

Can I take FSA-II from home?

Yes, through Pearson VUE's OnVUE online proctoring, or you can test at a Pearson VUE centre. OnVUE requires compliant equipment, identity checks and a private cleared workspace, and it does not allow personal notes, books or physical scratch paper. Use the permitted on-screen calculator and whiteboard.

How many times can I attempt the exam?

Pearson VUE allows a maximum of three sittings per level, within the January-February, May-June and September-October testing windows. Plan your first sitting carefully, since attempts are limited.

Ready to pass your FSA-II exam?

Put this into practice with free FSA-II questions across every exam domain.